Skip to content

Confessions

May 16, 2010

Twenty years ago, Lang Phipps was already making the case made on this blog:

“Once one gets over the obsession with style, I have found qualities of substance may emerge. I realize that no matter where I live or what I wear, I will always value politeness, order, books and learning, tradition and family pride, and hard work: Here is the real legacy of my background.

“I still go to a couple of black tie parties every year and still find Southampton irresistible. But I don’t confuse these things with those true values that can still be called ‘Wasp’ values.”1

Phipps’s article is thought-provoking and well worth the reading, and the full text can be found here, thanks to Google books.

1. Lang Phipps, “Confessions of a Young WASP,” New York magazine, Sep 2, 1991, 31.

Leave a Reply

